Bad news, there are two degrees of unlawful possession of marijuana in Alabama. If classified as personal use, you can be sentenced to no more than a year in jail and up to a $6,000 fine. If classified as something other than personal use, you can get between 1 and 10 years in prison and a fine of $15,000. With penalties like these, you may want to look into moving to Denver. Imagine how much marijuana you can legally purchase with $15,000! On the other hand, not all forms of marijuana are illegal in Alabama. Patients with debilitating epileptic conditions can use CBD as part of state-sponsored clinical trail at the University of Alabama in Birmingham. This study was authorized in Senate Bill 174 in 2014.